2019 Fall Sports Awards Night

Congratulations to the following student-athletes who were recognized at the 2019 Fall Sports Awards:
View photos from the awards ceremony: https://flic.kr/s/aHsmJmxi9z


Boys’ Cross Country   
Iron Will Award- Liam Friberg ’22
The “Rock” Award- Elijah Howe ’20

Field Hockey 
Coaches Award-Kaylee Emery ’20
Coach’s Award- Sarah Foster ’20

Mountain Biking 
Raider Award- Luke Reinbach ’21

Boys’ Soccer 
Raider Award- James Littlefield ’20
Raider Award-Caden Daigle ’20

Girls’ Soccer 
Raider Award- Lucy Hodgman-Burns ’21
Raider Award- Hannah Moore ’20

Raider Award-Eddie Thurston ’21
Raider Award-Eli Mahan ’21

Raider Award-Jack Watson ’20
Raider Award-Connor Delaney ’20

Girls’ Cross Country 
Iron Will Award- Alanna Nataluk ’22
The ‘Rock” Award-Merys Carty ’20

Head of School Athletic Achievement Award: 

Abigail Hewes ’20

All-Academic Seniors:

This honor is reserved for seniors with a 3.2 GPA at this point in their high school careers.  In addition, they have at least 4 semesters at FA to be considered.  

Ryan Duffy-Field Hockey 
Kaylee Emery-Field Hockey
Katie Flynn-Field Hockey
Sarah Foster -Field Hockey
Abigail Hewes-Field Hockey
Bridget O’Neil-Field Hockey
Kirsten Wentworth-Field Hockey
William Fitzgerald-Golf
Josh Mattie-Golf
Jack Watson-Golf
Ethan Bain-Soccer
Caden Daigle-Soccer
Matt Guenther-Soccer
Kyle Mercier-Soccer
Ethan Burke-Football
Jack Campbell-Football
Gary Gao-Football
Dawson Jones-Football
Calvin Southwick-Football
Charlie Stokes-Football
Merys Carty-XC
Julianna Stanton-XC
Ethan Reinbach-XC
Audra Hamlin-Soccer
Sophie Kummer-Soccer
Madi McIntrye-Soccer

All-Conference Selections: 

Jacob Adams-Boys’ Soccer, 2nd team
Luna Barrionuevo-Girls’ Soccer, 1st Team
Jack Campbell-Campbell Conference Football, 1st Team
Merys Carty-Cross Country, 2nd Team
Caden Daigle-Boys’ Soccer All-Conference Honorable Mention
Kate Flynn-Field Hockey, 2nd Team 
Morgan Fusco-Girls’ Soccer, 1st Team 
Abigail Hewes-Field Hockey, 1st Team 
Lucy Hodgman-Burns-Girls’ Soccer Honorable Mention 
Camden Jones-Field Hockey, 2nd Team
Dawson Jones-Football Campbell Conference Honorable Mention
Bobby LeBlanc-Boys’ Soccer Honorable Mention 
Eli Mahan- Football Campbell Conference,1st Team
Madi McIntyre-Girls’ Soccer Honorable Mention 
Bridget O’Neil-Field Hockey, 1st Team 
Alanna Nataluk-Cross Country, 1st Team 
Calvin Southwick-Football Campbell Conference, 1st Team
Charlie Stokes- Football Campbell Conference Honorable Mention
Nora Zhai-Golf, 1st Team 

Special Awards:

The Linda Whitney Outstanding Player Award - Abigail Hewes ’20

The award is named after longtime Western Maine Conference Field Hockey Coach Linda Whitney upon her retirement from Lake Region High School. It is an honor to have Coach Whitney here tonight to join us in presenting this award.  The award was given to recognize her 30 plus years of coaching in the league as well as her ability to raise the level of professionalism of the coaches in the WMC. Linda has always been an advocate for better scheduling, equity between sports and the value of keeping consistency in athletics.  In addition, Linda’s Lake Region Field Hockey Teams teams were always among the most competitive on the field and always displayed a high level of sportsmanship around the game. They played hard but always played fair.  

This Linda Whitney Award is given to the top Class A/B field hockey player in the Western Maine Conference. It is selected by a vote of the league coaches at their postseason meeting after much discussion around each nominee.  The award recognizes the most consistently skilled and hard-working player who still demonstrates that same level of sportsmanship that many values in Coach Whitney.  

Booster Fans of the Season Award:

School Spirit Award-Madi McIntyre ’20

Athletes who placed in their State Championships:

Alanna Nataluk ‘22 placed 5th place finish in the State Championships and at States she placed 6th overall; she was the top sophomore in Southern Maine Championship and the Class B State Championships.

Abigail Hewes ’20 selected to the Class B All-State and will play this summer in the Moe McNally All-State Game for field hockey.

Luna Barrionuevo ’21 named to the Maine Soccer Coaches Class B South All- Regional Team.  She is one of 11 players within all the southern Maine soccer schools to be selected.  

Nora Zhai ’22 placed 5th in Southern Maine Women’s Golf Qualifier and placed 5th at the State Championships, which qualified her to play in the New England Womens’ Championship in June as a part of Team Maine.

The football team won The Pleasant Mountain Cup against Lake Region High School--a tradition that began in 1994. 

The girls’ soccer team earned the Girls Soccer Class B South Sportsmanship Award.

Girls’ field hockey earned the Class B Southern Maine Runner-Up Plaque with a 9-4-1 record.

Three-star jackets awarded to athletes who have earned their 3rd varsity letter:

Luna Barrionuevo
Samantha Caras
Hope Duffy
Khianna Frank
Amanda Howe
Maddie Lavetu-Foreman
Phinneus Lucy
Hannah Moore
Alanna Nataluk
Eddie Plessinger
Eden Richardson
Luke reinbach
Gabe Rogers
Elio Terricabras 
Jack Watson

Head of School Award 

-Abigail Hewes' 20

This award is given to the student-athlete with four years of spectacular success on the athletic field and demonstrates tremendous citizenship and sportsmanship in the process, he or she may be awarded a career achievement award. The award is reserved for the highest achievers who succeed consistently at the state level.

List of 5 news stories.

  • Space Raiders

    This past March, the Space Raiders purchased a 9.25” refractor telescope with a computer-controlled motorized “go-to” mount and camera adapter. Thanks to the generous donations from the Perloff Family Foundation, The Lucas Spencer Passion Fund, and Sally and Jim Gibson of Fryeburg, the purchase was possible. The telescope purchase helps to further our mission for viewing and astrophotography of the planets, stars, galaxies, nebula, and comets. We will be having open viewing events on campus and at the OLRC barn as weather and schedules permit.
  • FA Appoints Two New Board Members: Renee C. Thomas ‘84, and Nicola Soares ‘86

    The Fryeburg Academy Board of Trustees has appointed two new board members: Renee C. Thomas ‘84, and Nicola Soares ‘86. Both women hail from Bermuda and spent their Academy years as students in its boarding program.
  • FA Students Join UM Buddy Defranco and MMEA Maine State Jazz Festivals 

    This January, Fryeburg Academy’s after-school jazz groups were able to resume limited rehearsals (following specific CDC guidelines for spacing, ventilation, masking, instrument covers, and rehearsal length), which allowed us to begin preparation for the spring virtual jazz festivals.
  • FA Students Win 2021 Biomimicry Youth Design Challenge

    FA's Biology Club, led by Jennifer Richardson, was selected as the winner for the 2020-21 Youth Design Challenge, winning the Problem Definition Award for their MorphoBrick concept.
  • FA Senior’s Photography Recognized by the Maine College of Art Alliance for Young Artists & Writers

    Senior Julian Zhu’s photography skills are known by many in our community, and his stellar work graces the Academy’s walls and marketing publications. This year, Zhu was awarded the Gold Key Award from Maine College of Arts’ Scholastic Art & Writing Awards for his submitted photo entitled, “Graduation 2020-Under COVID-19.” 

Fryeburg Academy

745 Main Street
Fryeburg, ME 04037
p. (207) 935-2001      
f.  (207) 935-5013      
Fryeburg Academy is an independent boarding and day school, serving grades 9-12 and postgraduate. We invite you to explore our site and learn how students from around the globe find their place in the world through our exceptional academic, art, and athletic programs.