Skip To Main Content

Hall of Excellence


Hall of Excellence members during the induction ceremony.

"Alumni are the backbone of any educational institution. Their achievements and contributions are a testament to the quality of education the institution provides."

We Love to Celebrate You...

Fryeburg Academy honors individuals each year for exceptional service to the school and the community through our Hall of Excellence recognition.

We invite you to nominate members within our community whose accomplishments deserve special recognition.


Hall of Excellence 

The Hall of Excellence Award honors individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the Academy's extracurricular activities while upholding the institution's core values. This distinction is earned by those who have participated in or provided significant support to Fryeburg Academy's extracurricular programs. 

Nominate a Hall of Excellence Recipient

Hall of Excellence Inductees

Wayne Farrington 2023 HOE Inductee

Inducted Fall 2023

Wayne Farrington, Class of '72, was an active athlete throughout high school, earning seven varsity letters at Fryeburg Academy. In his first year, Coach Heikkinen convinced Wayne to join the wrestling team, which went on to win the Class C State Championship that year. Wayne became the state prep champion in the 110 lbs. weight category. His successful high school sports career continued, with Fryeburg Academy securing first place in the Class B State and State Prep in 1971, winning the New England Prep Class C Championship in 1972, and finishing as the runners-up in State Class B.

Read More about Wayne Farrington '72
Mark True 2023 HOE Inductee

Inducted Fall 2023

Mark True spent most of his childhood on the Fryeburg Academy campus, the son of long-time faculty member and later headmaster Harry True. Mark was a member of the Class of 1982 and excelled in the classroom and on the athletic fields and courts.

Read More about Mark True '82
Kermit "Kit" Foster HOE 2023 Inductee

Inducted Fall 2023

Kit Foster, Class of 1965, was a standout athlete during his time at FA. He earned six varsity letters in football, basketball, and track and was part of the 1963 State Class C Championship football team. He received All-Conference Honors in 1963 and 1964. In his senior year, Kit served as team captain for both the basketball and track teams.

Read More about Kermit "Kit" Foster '65
Heather Massee 2023 HOE Inductee

Inducted Fall 2023

Heather Masse graduated from FA in 2000. As a student musician, she was a standout from the start, one of the most talented singers/artists to graduate from FA. Heather was a four-year member of the Academy’s award-winning vocal jazz ensemble, a soloist in chorus, held leads in the school musicals, was selected to the All-State Chorus, and received the best vocalist award winner at the 2000 Berklee High School Jazz Festival in Boston, MA. She also earned varsity letters in soccer and track and was a member of the National Honor Society.

Read More about Heather Massee '00
Fred Apt 2023 HOE Inductee

Inducted Fall 2023

Coach Fred Apt transitioned from a sports-loving Fryeburg Academy Raider fan to a Fryeburg Academy Coach in 1998.Having been an athlete throughout his childhood on the baseball field and in hockey rinks and continuing his passion for playing competitive softball in his younger adult life, it was only a natural fit that he took on the coaching role. During Coach Apt's 23 coaching career years at FA, he had an impressive overall record of 248-40 combined on the softball field and the ice rink.  He made 12 appearances in the Western Maine Conference league championships, six Western Maine regional championships, and four Maine State championships. 

Read More about Fred Apt
Charlie Berg HOE 2023 Inductee

Inducted Fall 2023

Charlie Berg graduated in 1995 from Fryeburg Academy. 
While a student at FA, he was already preparing himself for a career in photojournalism and could often be found documenting the happenings around campus.

In addition to his artistic and communication skills, Charlie was a cross-country ski team member and a prize-speaking finalist in 1994 and 1995.

Read More about Charlie Berg '95
2008 Softball Champions at FA

Inducted Fall 2023

In 2008 and 2009, the Fryeburg Academy Raiders softball teams made history by clinching back-to-back Maine Class B softball state championships. These remarkable seasons boasted an impressive combined record of 38 wins and only two losses. Notably, the 2008 squad marked a significant milestone as the first-ever state softball championship for Fryeburg Academy. Following in their footsteps, the 2009 team secured another championship, solidifying their place as the only softball teams in FA history to win state championship titles consecutively. Both the 2008 and 2009 teams triumphed over Medomak Valley for the state title, with the 2008 Raiders winning 6-2 and the 2009 Raiders triumphing 2-1. At that time, the Raiders became the fourth team in Class B history to repeat as state champions.

Read More about 2008 & 2009 Class B Softball State Champion Teams

Hall of Excellence Members