FA Alum Zac Mercauto '17 Wins MSAD 72 Seat

Steer, Damon. "Recent Fryeburg grad wins MSAD-72 seat". July 15, 2020. Conway Daily Sun.

FRYEBURG, Maine — A 23-year-old 2017 graduate of Fryeburg Academy has won a seat on the MSAD 72 school board. Voters also returned incumbent selectmen and water district trustees to their boards.

Due to COVID-19, open Fryeburg town meeting, which was scheduled for July 16, was canceled. Instead, all-ballot voting was held Tuesday from 8 a.m.-8 p.m. at the David & Doris Hastings Community Center at 59 Recreation Drive, a new location for voting this year.

Town Clerk Theresa Shaw told the Sun that municipal warrant article results were still pending and likely would be available by today.

At the June 25 selectmen’s meeting, Selectman Kimberly Clark noted that no one was running for school board in Fryeburg this year. Fryeburg belongs to MSAD 72.

According to msad72.org, Fryeburg has two members whose terms are expiring — Kim DeVries and Marie Struven — and one vacant alternate position.

Twenty-three-year old Zac Mercauto told the Sun he ran a write-in campaign for the alternate seat. According to results released Tuesday afternoon, Mercauto won the seat with eight write-in votes.

He is now in his senior year as a Mountain Resort Management student at Northern Vermont University-Lyndon. He said this will be a way for him to learn about local politics.

“I will serve the people of Fryeburg by being a voice for the children, the future of our town, region, and country,” said Mercauto.

“As I recently graduated from the Academy in May 2017, I think this will serve me well since I know the district a bit already.” Read the full article here. 

List of 5 news stories.

  • FA Alum Zac Mercauto '17 Wins MSAD 72 Seat

    FRYEBURG, Maine — A 23-year-old 2017 graduate of Fryeburg Academy has won a seat on the MSAD 72 school board. Voters also returned incumbent selectmen and water district trustees to their boards.

  • FA OLRC Director and Science Teacher, Dylan Harry, Receives Tin Mountain Award

    The Outstanding Environmental Educator Award recognizes a teacher who in addition to working with and supporting Tin Mountain in the classroom, works to further exploration and environmental stewardship. 
  • Fryeburg Academy‚Äôs Senior, Dawson Jones, Named a 2020 Mitchell Scholar

    FRYEBURG, ME, JUNE 29, 2020— Fryeburg Academy is pleased to announce that Dawson Jones’20 was named a 2020 Mitchell Scholar, who was selected from over 1,400 applicants. The scholarship was created in honor of former Senator George J. Mitchell and marks its 25-year anniversary this year. Mitchell Scholars exemplify the characteristics of scholarship, leadership, and commitment to the community and public service that were hallmarks of Senator Mitchell’s own selfless dedication and legacy.

  • Fryeburg Academy Spring 2019/20 High Honors/Honors Roll Recipients Named

    We are pleased to announce the following students who have earned academic recognition at Fryeburg Academy for the Spring of 2019-20:

  • FA's Transition to Remote Learning

    Remote Learning. It’s the latest trend that has changed our world in response to the global health crisis— challenging schools, universities, and colleges to rapidly navigate new tools and technologies and shifting to an entirely new way of instruction. Video conferencing providers like Google Hangouts Meet, Zoom, Microsoft and WebEx are seeing a surge in use. And, according to recent statistics this past month, Zoom was the number one downloadable app, followed by Google Classroom and Google Hangouts Meet.

Fryeburg Academy

745 Main Street
Fryeburg, ME 04037
p. (207) 935-2001      
f.  (207) 935-5013      
Fryeburg Academy is an independent boarding and day school, serving grades 9-12 and postgraduate. We invite you to explore our site and learn how students from around the globe find their place in the world through our exceptional academic, art, and athletic programs.